PAS vs Kombi

bplust

Well-Known OPE Member
Local time
11:27 AM
User ID
Reaction score
Hi all,

I have a friend interested in buying one of these multi-tool powerheads for personal (not commercial) use.

I have no experience whatsoever with either, to the point that I have never even held either of them.

I know that first and foremost, he needs to replace his trimmer, so he'll get the trimmer head, and probably (if available, I don't know much of anything about these), he'd go with a pole saw, a hedge trimmer, and maybe some other attachments.

Warranty is not a consideration, as we have to do some serious traveling to get to a good Stihl or Echo dealer, so him or myself would take care of maintenance.

Any and all input is appreciated. Obviously, the Echo (He is looking at the PAS266 IIRC) is more appealing due to price point, but if quality is an issue, he is willing to spend accordingly. I personally think that Echo saws are good and their professional trimmers are great, so I urged him to not overlook them as a brand. But I know nothing about the PAS system (or the Kombi system).

Thank you in advance for any replies,

Bryan

Gunn

Yay sawz
Local time
10:27 AM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
I have the km110 unit. The power is nice. I have had 0 complaints about it.

fordf150

Pinnacle OPE Member
Local time
User ID
Reaction score
Personally I would go echo. They are solid reliable units that seem to run forever and need very little if any maintenance. If they aren't abused and are run with quality oil you can figure on an air filter every couple years, fuel system rebuild in about ten years..... That's about as maintenance free as you get. Now on to the disclosures.....

I sell echo

I've never ran one of the stihl kombi units except for 5 minutes at a time when they come in the shop for work and even then it's only the trimmer attachment

Onan18

OPE Sponsor
GoldMember
Local time
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag