open face notch? anyone use it?

skip sail

Super OPE Member
Local time
8:14 PM
User ID
Reaction score
I've recently got a copy of Jeff Jepsons excellent book "to fell a tree"
Lots of good stuff in there,but i wasnt sure about his insistence on the open face notch. No-one I know out in australia uses it on our hardwoods,and I've never tried it,so i thought i'd give it a go.
i tried it on a few smaller yellow box eucalypts the other day,and really didnt like it,i had one come sideways off the stump at me(something ive never had happen with an ordinary notch) and i felt a lack of control. Maybe i was doing something wrong,but i wont mess with it again.
Is it a common technique in the USA? if so,why,and what are the benefits?

Ryan Browne

Pinnacle OPE Member
GoldMember
Local time
5:14 AM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
I use it quite a bit. I'm no professional feller, by any stretch of the imagination, but I learned the technique from a chainsaw safety class taught by a logging safety organization. As I understand it, the main benefit of the open face notch is that it allows the hingewood to control the tree for a much greater portion of the fall. When a traditional or Humboldt face cut closes after say 30 degrees of fall, the holding wood breaks or pulls out and the tree goes wherever it wants. Since the open face notch doesn't close until almost 90 degrees of fall, the holding wood stays intact much longer. IIRC, the amount of fibers pulled out of the log from the stump is reduced this way also.