New Guy with lots of question on Farmertec 066 and 070

DaveInGA

"Do the job right, you won't have to come back."
Local time
11:16 AM
User ID
Reaction score
Hi All,

I'm Dave from Hoschton, GA. I'm an experienced woodworker and recently purchased a Granberg chainsaw mill with all the trimmings, including chainsaw oil luber and winch. My stepson will be running it for me. He owns a Stihl 066 in good running order he inherited from his Father, who has passed.

Rather than have him wear out his Dad's chainsaw on the mill, I'm thinking of buying either a built or parts kit for either a Farmertec 066 or 070. My Dad was a mechanic and I've got extensive experience with general mechanics in and out of the Army, plus robotics mechanics background. To date, most small outdoor power engines have been pretty simple for me, but I have not ported/flowed or hotrodded any.

I'm looking to get opinions on either to buy the Farmertec 066 or 070 version. Which would be the best platform with a ripping chain and a 36 inch bar to use on a Granberg saw mill?

Secondly, I'm seeking opinions on buying the Farmertec blue or orange parts kit for less money, then upgraded it with OEM parts as needed for best performance for the application or simply buy a stock already built 066 or 070. Which has the most potential in the long run? The 066 or the 070?

I'm totally open to suggestions and input and I can afford any tools I need to properly build anything. I forgot to mention I'm own a lot of mechanics tools including a steel covered workbench in my garage.

thank you for your advice and input,

Dave

DaveInGA

Local time
User ID
Reaction score
Not a lot, it's going to be used when we have a hardwood tree or log to turn into lumber. My biggest concern is having enough torque to make this a less strenuous job, as some of the trees are fairly large.

huskihl

Muh fingers look really big
GoldMember
Local time
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag