New addition to shop... advise needed.

jakethesnake

I Am The Snake
Local time
5:45 AM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
A belt laced would do it. I have one. Somewhere. I use it to repair round bale belts. I’m not sure you’d want to dish out the money for one. A baler dealer could likely re lace it though call one.

weeks auto

Super OPE Member
Local time
4:45 AM
User ID
Reaction score
I use an old used automotive serpentine belt on mine. I hated the sound of the lacing on the leather belt. I have been using mine with the serp belt for 8 years. Cut the serp belt so there is 2" or so of overlap and the sand the ribs off one side and backing off the otherside. Then use regular old super glue and stick the overlaps together clamp it between two boards until cured. Its a cheap or free upgrade and you can take deeper cuts with the lathe with out the belt slipping.

tickbitintn

Pinnacle OPE Member
Local time
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
I use an old used automotive serpentine belt on mine. I hated the sound of the lacing on the leather belt. I have been using mine with the serp belt for 8 years. Cut the serp belt so there is 2" or so of overlap and the sand the ribs off one side and backing off the otherside. Then use regular old super glue and stick the overlaps together clamp it between two boards until cured. Its a cheap or free upgrade and you can take deeper cuts with the lathe with out the belt slipping.

I HATE that sound as well. The belt on mine is poorly laced and worn so it is very noisy.

Local time
User ID
Reaction score
I have used silk sutures to lace an old belt together on an old Farmall generator. Punched 12 small holes in each side and ran 10 or 12 loops (each tied off on the outside) through each set of holes. Then I did another set of 5 or 6 diagonally across to provide stability. I can’t speak to the longevity of the repair, to be honest, but I know it held up for well over a year.

The serpentine belt idea sounds pretty darn good.