XP_Slinger

They’re Just Saws
Local time
11:12 AM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
Morning Fellas,

My friend has an MS391 that he wants me to liven up. Now, I've had some great success grinding on my XP's but I'm of the understanding that the 391 is quite the pig. But since I have zero hands on experience with this saw I'd like to hear your opinions on waking it up. Is it worth the time? Could one reasonably expect a ported 391 to run close to a stock MS361? Just a stab in the dark with that comparison not knowing much about the Orange and White saws. School me up gents! Thanks.

Onan18

OPE Sponsor
GoldMember
Local time
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
It is a clamshell design, so it would be very difficult to tighten squish. That being said, I think a good widening and squaring of the intake and exhaust port, gasket match the heat shield and muffler, generous muffler mod, and a timing bump would be worthwhile. These saws run pretty good stock, and respond well to basic mods.

Joe

XP_Slinger

They’re Just Saws
Local time
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
It is a clamshell design, so it would be very difficult to tighten squish. That being said, I think a good widening and squaring of the intake and exhaust port, gasket match the heat shield and muffler, generous muffler mod, and a timing bump would be worthwhile. These saws run pretty good stock, and respond well to basic mods.

Joe

I recall running his saw a long time ago and I thought it ran pretty nice. His problem is he tries to run it like an 066 that he previously had...not gonna happen. I just hope if I spend the time on his saw he appreciates it for what it is and doesn't compare it's power to the bigger saws. Thanks for the advice on where to mod it. As always, experienced insight is always appreciated.

XP_Slinger

They’re Just Saws
Local time
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag