MS 660 Mystery

Forallhesgot

Active OPE Member
Local time
11:47 AM
User ID
Reaction score
Hi All,

I'll admit I'm not an expert - but I'm a bit stumped here, that's why I am asking the experts!

I bought an MS660 recently - the saw is in pretty good shape, ran well, cut well etc. when I tested. When I got home I pulled the muffler to inspect the cylinder and found a little wear on the exhaust side. Nothing too concerning, but I was up for a project - so I decided to pull the cylinder, clean it up and install a new meteor piston + rings.
Now when I first bought the saw it did run well, just felt like it may be a tiny bit low on compression as it was easy to start.
I cleaned up the OEM cylinder with scotchbrite, it cleaned up very well. There was a lot of carbon build up, on the head and exhaust. At the same time, I gutted the muffler and matched the exhaust outlet with the gasket and muffler. I installed a new OEM fuel filter, new Maxflow filter.

After the rebuild, I pressure + Vacuum tested the saw, checked the fuel lines, carb, fuel vent, impulse line. I checked a few times on all parts - it holds pressure and vacuum very well.

After the rebuild I ran it only with Stihl pre-mixed non e gas, to eliminate that variable - I ran almost 2 tanks though it and decided to pull the muffler + plug to see what was going on. It should be said that the saw ran great, the only issue is the idle would vary from a little low to a little higher after cutting, not sure if this is my tuning, or I;jm being overly sensitive but it would idle without stalling and ran well with lots of cutting power etc.

So when I pulled the plug and muffler I did find some marking, although very light it was concerning. Here are the pics after I pulled the cylinder (this is after the original rebuild + new piston)
IMG_3535.jpg
IMG_3542.jpg
IMG_3536.jpg IMG_3537.jpg