Mower deliberations.

Paul Lloyd-Jones

Just learning
Local time
5:48 AM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
Hey guys, I am an arborist and crew manager for a small tree service in Central Florida. I’m new to OpeForum. I came for the chainsaws, but now I have a mower question.
I pay about $800-$1000 a year for someone to mow my .61 acre lawn. This is a good price for what I’ve got, but I don’t think it’s going to last. The minimum wage increase here is really driving up costs.
Recently, I decided I might like to just put about one year’s lawn care expense (or less) into buying a new reliable push mower to cut the grass myself. I have a blower and whip that I can use from work.
I would be trading convenience for responsibility and empowerment. I think it’s pretty low-risk, since if in a year, I decided I don’t want to do it myself anymore, the main loss is my time/labor. (But I think the work is good for me anyway).

At the moment, I am looking at a Toro 21” SuperRecycler (187cc?) for $800. I started off wanting a HondaHRX217, but it seems hard to find them (even online), and I prefer to buy in person.
But then today, I was at Home Depot and saw this…
IMG_7051.jpeg

IMG_7050.jpegIMG_7047.jpeg
The associate says they got a few of them like this 2.5 years ago. They were not selling (can’t imagine why at that original price) and they started marking them down. The other two finally sold, but at some point they tried putting gas this one and it wouldn’t start.
I am not a mechanic, but I think I could figure out the problem (especially with some help), barring any major factory defect). Otherwise, I could just have a local guy I know of do it for me. But I kinda think I’d like to try to do it myself.

The possible third option is this:
IMG_7043.jpeg
IMG_7042.jpeg
It’s $1100.

Option 4 came in from a friend this morning:
(YARDMAX 22 in. 201cc Select PACE 6 Speed CVT High Wheel RWD 3-in-1 Gas Walk Behind Self Propelled Lawn Mower, Black)