McCulloch 10 10 diagnostic help needed

Willoughby

Well-Known OPE Member
Local time
10:02 AM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
I bought a McCulloch 10 10 , seller said it runs good but after draining fuel and oil to ship it ,when I get it, I filled it with fuel and oil and pull on it for a while and it wont start , it has spark and the choke works , tried a new plug , checked compression it has 90 psi compression , Im a retired auto tech and I know 4 stroke engines will start and run on as little as 80 psi , they wont run good but they will start , and they also have multiple cylinders, I do have a basic understanding of 2 stroke single cylinder engine operation but I'm still pretty green yet, how much compression is needed for a saw to start and run ? thanks in advance for any responses

Stump Shot

Disciple of Monkey's
GoldMember
Local time
11:02 AM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
That sounds low enough to indicate some sort of problem.
Also with could of this vintage some will produce spark but not strong enough to fire. Should be able to jump a 5mm air gap to test.
I would slide the muffler out and look at the piston through the exhaust port as my next move.

Willoughby

Well-Known OPE Member
Local time
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
Ill see how much spark its capable of making and pull the muffler for a look at cyl & piston , and then get back with findings early next week . thanks a lot for the help

AVB

Super OPE Member
Local time
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
Here anything two cycle that has less than 100 psi seldom starts although I had one Poulan that was @ 95 pis that started but ran terrible. I tend use 110 psi as a good minimum compression reading when checking out two cycles.