RyeThomas

Pinnacle OPE Member
Local time
1:55 AM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
Ok so I need a little help.

Background I'm a Pro Firefighter so we have an account with a local Stihl dealer, he's our vendor and subject matter expert. He is the only one I can go through. We have had an issue with our 291 we carry on the engine. It's been in the shop a few times, it hard starts sometimes then once running it will run fine then at times bog down under load. The shop is in fact this dealer, he has the contract for the entire county so I don't think he knows the saw in question is one he's serviced. The next issue is we have 3 shifts of Morons who think they know something about saws putting their hands on the saw so who knows who has touched/adjusted what.

Funny our truck carries 2 461's and they have been flawless, well besides the fuel recall.

So I called and said I wanted a new saw and thought a 362 CM would be perfect. We don't need a 441 and a 261 may be a bit small. He quickly said the way we run them would not be good for the Mtronic saws and said we would burn them up. Suggested a manual carb and a 291/311, lol. I said "ok, thanks I'll get back to you."

Before I go and make an ass out of myself and go against the dealers recommendation I'd like to know if I'm making a big mistake. My thought is the Mtronic will not get messed with by the masses at the station and should be easier to maintain and operate. That said it will see FD service, meaning no warm up run hard and shut down quick and jammed back in a compartment on the rig.

Let me know what you think.

And please don't say find another dealer, I can't simply do that.

RyeThomas

Pinnacle OPE Member
Local time
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
Oh and all we run is the ethanol free 50:1 can fuel so I don't believe we have a fuel issue.

Lone Wolf

Pinnacle OPE Member
Local time
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag