Husqy 350 45mm build help

Landmark

Chainsaw Hack
Local time
4:47 PM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
Ok so i started a new thread about a friends grandfather's husky 350 he took in for seals at local dealer. I pressure ckd after a tank or so threw it and it leaks air like crazy around both seals and base plate. I have never been this deep in this type saw so is this orange silicone oem and are these seals oem? I sent am seals with him to deal and they were either blue or grey as memory serves me. Perhaps deal used oem stuff instead? Who knows. Anyway, what type of sealant do i use to reassemble the base? I generally use 4bond when deleting gaskets but will that work here. Any help is appreciated and i know alot of you guys have built these so chime in please. Also can i reuse bearings if they are good?

image.jpeg image.jpeg image.jpg

Chainganger

Super OPE Member
Local time
3:47 PM
User ID
Reaction score
ok, I am not an expert but I have rebuilt one and have one torn apart and clean for a rebuild. My experience has been:

1: OEM sealant was an ivory color, not red.

2: Original crank bearing seals were brown. Seals are so stuck to the bearings that trying to reuse either is a waste of time.

3: New crank bearings and seals are cheap compared to the labor you have into it, get new. Lots of info here on how to mate the seals to the bearings, it is a tight fit. I think you can buy OEM already mated to one another but that is pretty spendy.

4: I used Permatex Motoseal on the recommendation of others here, it is more impervious to fuel but you want to go thin with it, because excess sealant could come loose on the inside and mess things up. Too early to vouch for its longevity. Others use an anerobic sealant (variant of loctite 515 or 518) for base gasket delete, but do not use it to try to seal the bottom of the bearing cap to plastic case, does not adhere to plastic. Tor confirmed this later in this thread.