husqvarna 460 low compression 60psi

Willoughby

Well-Known OPE Member
Local time
9:31 AM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
I picked up a used Husqvarna 460 from a saw shop mechanic, he said it had a new oe piston and needed carb work and a worm gear for oil pump
got it home checked compression , best it would do is 60psi , so I took it apart to look at the cylinder , found clutch cover melted on inside , no I know what happened to the plastic worm gear. but the piston and cylinder walls look great , I expected to find them scored . I am a retired auto mechanic 40 + years ,but im new to 2 stroke - I dont see why the low compression , unless the hole is egg shaped , I dont have inside mikes that small , I did measure piston its 48.93 mm every thing I read says it should be 47 or 50 mm , I dont mind buying piston and jug but am I missing something here ? any help appreciated

Marshy

WFO Cutting
Local time
11:31 AM
User ID
Reaction score
Does your co.pression tester have a Schrader valve in the tip of the hose that screws into the cylinder? If not then you are getting a false low reading. What kind of compression tester is it?

Willoughby

Well-Known OPE Member
Local time
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
Does your co.pression tester have a Schrader valve in the tip of the hose that screws into the cylinder? If not then you are getting a false low reading. What kind of compression tester is it?
all compression testers should have a Schrader valve unless your using it for cyl leakage test, I've been a mechanic since 1980 , the gauge isn't new but its always served me well , I put a aftermarket piston and cyl on it today and it fired right up , haven't measured compression yet , but judging by the way it pulls its gonna be good

Marshy

WFO Cutting
Local time
11:31 AM
User ID
Reaction score