Best Buy Co, Inc. Buy Used Saws CCC Ebay Store HLSupply Daily Deals

Husky 394/395 thread

Discussion in 'Chainsaws' started by dustinwilt68, Jul 22, 2018.

  1. dustinwilt68

    dustinwilt68 Destroyer Of Crankshafts

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2016
    Messages:
    3,726
    Likes Received:
    15,150
    Trophy Points:
    393
    Location:
    Meyersdale PA
    Post up your pIcs and thoughts, differences and such, anything you think might be helpful.
     
  2. rattler

    rattler ONE OF THE GREATEST!

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2015
    Messages:
    2,300
    Likes Received:
    11,484
    Trophy Points:
    363
    Location:
    NC
    92 model cylinder.
    IMG-20180722-WA0054.jpeg IMG-20180722-WA0052.jpeg IMG-20180722-WA0056.jpeg
     
    Daserlon, Tor R, 71dart and 7 others like this.
  3. Armbru84

    Armbru84 Pinnacle OPE Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2016
    Messages:
    914
    Likes Received:
    3,862
    Trophy Points:
    240
    Location:
    Michigan
    394 ported seems snappier where the 395 seems to have a longer torque band to it. Granted porting numbers have a play of course. Dual vs quad port.
     
    XP_Slinger, Daserlon, Tor R and 5 others like this.
  4. dustinwilt68

    dustinwilt68 Destroyer Of Crankshafts

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2016
    Messages:
    3,726
    Likes Received:
    15,150
    Trophy Points:
    393
    Location:
    Meyersdale PA
    I myself prefer the 394 but it's mainly due to the 394 being available in low top form, some like the high top and full wraps but for my usage a half wrap and lowtop works well, especially for stumping
     
    Ron660, XP_Slinger, Daserlon and 7 others like this.
  5. srcarr52

    srcarr52 We can't stop here, th1s is bat country!

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Messages:
    1,744
    Likes Received:
    10,245
    Trophy Points:
    430
    Location:
    Iowa City
  6. Canadian farm boy

    Canadian farm boy 10,000 "likes" and still a fart knocker.

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2015
    Messages:
    5,696
    Likes Received:
    29,407
    Trophy Points:
    495
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Kinda looks like a frost plug to me.
     
    Daserlon, Tor R, Onan18 and 3 others like this.
  7. dustinwilt68

    dustinwilt68 Destroyer Of Crankshafts

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2016
    Messages:
    3,726
    Likes Received:
    15,150
    Trophy Points:
    393
    Location:
    Meyersdale PA
    I have a 1994 model and it has a Mahle cylinder, anyone know how many years the KS was used, all 4 cylinder I have are Mahle.
     
    XP_Slinger, Daserlon, Tor R and 4 others like this.
  8. Wolverine

    Wolverine Do you even burn wood bro?

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016
    Messages:
    3,887
    Likes Received:
    15,259
    Trophy Points:
    393
    Location:
    Where freedom was won
    My '94 94.
    DSC07911.JPG
    DSC07910.JPG
    IMG_0650.JPG
     
    Daserlon, Tor R, PA Dan and 3 others like this.
  9. Wolverine

    Wolverine Do you even burn wood bro?

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016
    Messages:
    3,887
    Likes Received:
    15,259
    Trophy Points:
    393
    Location:
    Where freedom was won
    All you need to convert to high top is the 95 cover w/ trimmed tabs, and the high elbow. I switched due to the clamp on style filter. Much better for milling/keeping fines out. The press-fit low filter set-up leaked on mine.
    DSC08805.JPG
     
  10. rattler

    rattler ONE OF THE GREATEST!

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2015
    Messages:
    2,300
    Likes Received:
    11,484
    Trophy Points:
    363
    Location:
    NC
    That's the first one I have saw also Shaun
     
    XP_Slinger, Daserlon, Tor R and 3 others like this.
  11. dustinwilt68

    dustinwilt68 Destroyer Of Crankshafts

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2016
    Messages:
    3,726
    Likes Received:
    15,150
    Trophy Points:
    393
    Location:
    Meyersdale PA
    Thanks Jason for that, good to know what makes things work from the 395 to 394, has anyone made a 395 carb box work on a 394?
     
    XP_Slinger, Daserlon, Tor R and 4 others like this.
  12. Onan18

    Onan18 OPE Sponsor

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2015
    Messages:
    3,871
    Likes Received:
    20,311
    Trophy Points:
    504
    Location:
    Georgia

    It must be only on the early saws, i had a 1992 394 through the shop early January 2018 and it had that deflector on it.
     
  13. trooney

    trooney Admitted Woodaholic

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    1,695
    Likes Received:
    3,616
    Trophy Points:
    260
    Location:
    The land of pleasant living
    I think the only difference on the carb boxes is the 395 has an opening for the vent to enter the carb box. Not sure about the intake opening. Got to look at them when I get home. Put them side by side.
     
  14. huskyboy

    huskyboy Sorta a Husqvarna guy.

    Joined:
    May 30, 2016
    Messages:
    4,328
    Likes Received:
    15,739
    Trophy Points:
    426
    Location:
    Ct
    394 makes more torque lower in rpm band and 395 makes more torque in upper rpm range. 2 port vs 4 port. 395 has the slight edge to me. If I were milling I’d prefer the intake boot on the 395. Although... I never had 394 vapor lock on me, even cutting on some real hot days. They are basically the same basic saw other than that.
     
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2018
    XP_Slinger, smokey7, Daserlon and 4 others like this.
  15. Fruecrue

    Fruecrue I got wood

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2017
    Messages:
    2,301
    Likes Received:
    9,898
    Trophy Points:
    325
    Location:
    Alden NY
    Good thread and good timing.
    I should have a 394 land on my doorstep tomorrow.
    Subbed.
    Keep up the good work.
     
  16. huskyboy

    huskyboy Sorta a Husqvarna guy.

    Joined:
    May 30, 2016
    Messages:
    4,328
    Likes Received:
    15,739
    Trophy Points:
    426
    Location:
    Ct
    The 395 box can’t be used on a 394. At least not without a good deal of work. The 395 throttle cable is held by the arm on the intake boot (passes through carb box), while the 394 throttle cable is held by the carb box. The throttle cables are different. The 394 box can be made to work on a 395 easily however. Unfortunately 394 carb box is NLA along with a few other parts... which sucks.
     
    XP_Slinger, Daserlon, huskihl and 4 others like this.
  17. huskyboy

    huskyboy Sorta a Husqvarna guy.

    Joined:
    May 30, 2016
    Messages:
    4,328
    Likes Received:
    15,739
    Trophy Points:
    426
    Location:
    Ct
    Maybe if you somehow fabbed up a piece to hold the throttle cable on 395 carb box it would work? The intake opening might need work too.
     
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2018
  18. trooney

    trooney Admitted Woodaholic

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    1,695
    Likes Received:
    3,616
    Trophy Points:
    260
    Location:
    The land of pleasant living
  19. trooney

    trooney Admitted Woodaholic

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    1,695
    Likes Received:
    3,616
    Trophy Points:
    260
    Location:
    The land of pleasant living
    The 394 cable has a little piece that goes through the opening of the carb box that has a flared out end that wont let it into the carb box. The 395 cable is missing this piece which it is held by the intake boot baffle. I think the holes are in the same place.
     
    Moparmyway, Daserlon, Tor R and 2 others like this.
  20. Sty57

    Sty57 ONE OF THE GREATEST!

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2016
    Messages:
    6,108
    Likes Received:
    37,632
    Trophy Points:
    495
    Location:
    Land of Cheese & Beer
    The 394 and 395 carb shafts are a little different to. So that makes some of the differences int he Carb boxes.
    I know the choke rod for both carbs are a different shape for each box also.
     
    XP_Slinger, Moparmyway, Tor R and 4 others like this.
Loading...

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice