Hello New Here... Stihl 261 Question

ratherbehuntin

Well-Known OPE Member
Local time
11:18 PM
User ID
Reaction score
Hi All,

Im a newb here but been cutting firewood for a while now. Wanting to add a 261 to my arsenal.

Do I want the M tronic version or the regular carb version. I cut mainly at or close to sea level, rarely go above 2,000 feet and most of my wood is Oak & walnut at 600 ft. elevation.

thank you all for your help.

Guess Ill be looking in classifieds soon..... cool site here. Anyone got a ripping deal on a saw?

cheers.

Shanesaw80

Tree Assassin
Local time
12:18 AM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
To be honest I believe it’s hard to beat the Mtronic for a work saw. Sure a regular carb version you can fine tune it but the simplicity of just picking it up and cutting without having to adjust anything is worth a lot for the average firewood cutter.

Don’t get me wrong I like being able to tune my saws and wouldn’t think of getting rid of them but I do really like the Mtronic system as well.

Again just my opinion.

full chizel

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Local time
2:18 AM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
Trying to start a fight on your 1st post? :argue:Welcome i’m pretty new here too. MTronic vs. adjustable csrb is a matter of opinion. Some like Mtronic and some hate it. Personally i like it and think it works well. Buy whatever you feel comfortable buying

Last edited:

Two Trax

Well-Known OPE Member
Local time
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
I am not one that always embraces change, so I sat on the sidelines for quite a while with technology like Motronic and Autotune. But about 3 years ago I found a very good deal on a 261 Motronic and decided to try one.

It has thus far been a stellar performer. I liked it so much that when another deal came up on a MMWS 261 Motronic, I bought that one too. That one will really put a smile on your face!

So give one a try, I believe you will find you like it!

ratherbehuntin

Well-Known OPE Member
Local time
User ID