Grey Echo CS8000 compression spec

DigB

Well-Known OPE Member
Local time
3:50 PM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
I recently picked up a grey CS-8000. It starts easily and runs well despite compression reading of just 135# Everything looks great through the exhaust. It has two thin rings.

I hope someone can tell me the acceptable compression range for this saw, Type 1E, serial 001450.

Also, what's the latest on using the newer domed piston with this jug?

And does mounting the husqv460 carb require much modification?Or is there a better alternative? My cs8000 has an HDA 153B.

Thanks for the help. Don

Bigmac

Mastermind Approved!
Local time
12:50 PM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
I have zero experience with that model, but it sounds a touch low. I always recommend checking a known good saw with your compression gauge before you make any conclusions about another saw because of your low compression reading, compression tester’s can be off, elevation also has a role in low compression readings. It also depends on the style of compression tester you have as well, how many pulls you make to get your reading can also be a variable as well

merc_man

merc_man
Local time
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
Also hold throttle wide open to get as much air as possible.

Sent from my SM-J320W8 using Tapatalk

DigB

Well-Known OPE Member
Local time
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
I have no confidence that my compression tester is accurate, but it reads above 150 on most of my good running saws. Still I would like to know what Echo recommends as a minimum.

Bigmac

Mastermind Approved!
Local time
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag