High Quality Chainsaw Bars Husqvarna Toys

Generator Starts But Won't Stay Running

David Green

New OPE Member
Local time
8:33 PM
User ID
Reaction score
Hi All, Stihlonly sent me over. He says hi. I'm not a newbie, but I'm not exactly an expert either.

5500W DeVilbiss Generator (I think now they are owned by Porter Cable)
10 HP Tecumseh HM100 Engine also says 159409P on the tag

I'm trying to get it running for someone. It used to run, as far as I know it hasn't run in at least a year.

I can spray starting fluid into the intake, choke it, engine will catch on the first pull but won't stay running. Without starting fluid it won't catch at all. I've replaced the fuel filter on the gravity feed fuel system, drained and replaced all the gas with fresh and replaced the carb - the new one was cheaper than a rebuild kit.

So this is acting like it's not getting fuel. The new fuel filter has a clear body, I can see it fill with fuel. I loosened the bowl nut on the carburetor, it's definitely getting fuel to the carb. I did not adjust the carb or do much to it when I got it except put it on. So there's a possible float issue, clogged jet etc on the new carburetor. You can see in the link to the carb that the gasket doesn't have an offset so I can't see a way to put it on incorrectly.

Things that I've yet to check
oil level, I may just change the oil. I don't have a reason to expect its low. I don't know if this generator has a low oil cutoff but it might.
replace the fuel lines, one might be restricted so that some fuel is getting to the engine but not enough

Spark plug, but I can't see how this is an ignition issue.

Is there anything else? it is acting very much like a fuel problem.

Lone Wolf

Pinnacle OPE Member
Local time
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
Hi All, Stihlonly sent me over. He says hi. I'm not a newbie, but I'm not exactly an expert either.

5500W DeVilbiss Generator (I think now they are owned by Porter Cable)