346 porting (first time)

paragonbuilder

Mastermind Approved!
Local time
5:02 PM
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
I've got my BIL's 346 right now. He said it was losing power every time he used it. It doesn't have much time on it. So he bought an aftermarket jug and put it on but can't get it running. When I got it the intake was crooked with an 1/8" space on one side so no wonder it wouldn't start. I had him bring the oem jug and piston and they are perfect! Saw was running pretty rich is all.

So before I put it back together I'd like to do a little porting on it. No machine work but open up intake and exhaust a little.
Any recommendations or things to watch for on this saw? It's my first time and not my saw so I don't want to get crazy. Just make a stronger saw for him.

TIA
Dan

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Last edited:

SixGun

Super OPE Member
Local time
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
The 346 doesn't need much grinding on the ports to make a great saw. Be sure to leave at least 2mm between port sides and piston skirt. Try not to raise or lower the ports on your first time around, spend more time polishing the exhaust port than grinding it and be sure to port match muffler , heat shield and gasket.
Check your squish and see if you can remove base gasket or replace with thinner gasket if necessary to maintain a squish of 15 to 20 thou.
Remove carb limiters and open muffler . I usually add an extra 1/2'' port to this size saw .
Hope this helps a little. good luck
Paul

paragonbuilder

Mastermind Approved!
Local time
User ID
Reaction score
Country flag
The 346 doesn't need much grinding on the ports to make a great saw. Be sure to leave at least 2mm between port sides and piston skirt. Try not to raise or lower the ports on your first time around, spend more time polishing the exhaust port than grinding it and be sure to port match muffler , heat shield and gasket.